Bontrager wheels speed Heras to podium - BikeBiz

Bontrager wheels speed Heras to podium

Simoni's Giro win was down to his saddle, said Fizik. Now, Trek is linking the Vuelta victory of Roberto Heras at the weekend to the Bontrager wheels ridden by the USPS team. "This is the first time in 20 years that two different leaders from the same team have won two grand tours in one season. Not a bad first season for the Triple X Lite wheels," said a statement from Trek.
Publish date:

Roberto Heras won the Vuelta's 11.2km uphill time trial on Saturday, clinching a dramatic come-from-behind

overall win.

He was riding Bontrager Triple X Lite carbon wheels, the wheelsystem developed specifically for Lance Armstrong and the USPS team.

Keith Bontrager - for it was he - gave a set of these wheels to commentator Phil Liggett at last week's Cycle 2003/Singletrack Awards, see pic above. Another set was put up for auction at the end of the awards presentations. Despite being worth in excess of £1100, a lucky IBD picked up a set for £300.

The 1185 gram wheels feature flangeless hubs and one-piece OCLV 110 carbon rims.

Two months ago, Lance Armstrong rode the Triple X Lites to victory in his fifth consecutive Tour de France win.

Keith Bontrager, thanks to the marketing muscle of Trek, has certainly come a long way from his MTB roots. He started his custom bicycle design and manufacturing business in his in-laws' garage in 1980. The operation grew from a one-man shop to a small factory until its purchase by Trek Bicycle Corporation in 1995.

Featured Jobs

cycles service promo

Shop Manager/ Head Mechanic

Cycleservice Limited I Sidmouth, East Devon I Salary: £22,000 Plus Share Incentives Available I Date Published Wednesday 30th May 2018

Giant St Paul Logo

Bike Fitter / Sales Person

Giant St Pauls I City of London I Salary: Negotiable Dependent on Experience I Date Published Thursday 21st June 2018


Social Media Executive

Sigma Sports I Hampton Wick, Surrey I £22,000 to £24,000 per year I Date Published Monday 4th June 2018