Hugh Porter was doing the commentary; the road races skimmed though the back-end of the expo hall; and there were even a few more road-bike brands at the show.

The Bike Show goes roadie-friendly

Of course, the show was still wall-to-wall BMXers, trials riders and MBUK groupies,but Haymarket plan to make this an even more bike-electic show next year.


1. Steve Higgins Unattached British Cycling Member.

2. Simon Gaywood CC Luton/Bandon @1.00

3. Scott Gamble Ashfield RC @st

4. Malcolm Elliot GS Pinarello

5. Barrie Clarke Giant Racing

6. James Flanagan Team Milton Keynes

7. Martin Ford Arctic Shorter/Rochford

8. Stuart Dangerfield Camel Valley CTC

9. Andy Collis Team Lichfield

10. Keith Haddon Ashfield RC


Top – the elite riders on the Circuit Cup.

Below – Hugh Porter interviews the elite winner. Steve Higgins is a local lad, and one of the only unsponsored riders in the race. He won by a figuritive mile, zipping up his plain jersey at the arms-aloft finish in a ‘this space for sale’ gesture to would-be sponsors.

Base – MBUK editor Tym Manley in sparkling-fresh trendy clobber, as opposed to his usual Bohemian attire.

In other news...

2020 hits record low for retail sales growth

COVID-19 has led to 2020 being the “worst year on record” for retail sales growth, …